No Soup For You

9 Jul

I get into my car,

Drive the same streets

Stop at the same stop signs

Stop at the same lights

Turn at the same streets

Change lanes at the same place

This is my past, this is my future.

This is what expected, if not demanded,

Openness and vulnerability are not for men.

Men must be stoic and silent –

to do otherwise, to say how it appears, is “mean.”

Tomorrow

I will get into my car,

Drive the same streets

Stop at the same stop signs

Stop at the same lights

Turn at the same streets

Change lanes at the same place

This is my past, this is my future.

Leave a Reply

