Another Mother-in-Law Crisis

25 Apr

MIL: Oh, Jesus, Mary and Joseph, my television is on the blink.

Ms.  Mousebert: What’s wrong now mother?

MIL: I don’t know. It started acting funny, so I started pushing all the buttons on the control thingy and then on the TV and cable box, and now all I get is static. I’ve tried disconnecting things and plugging things back in.

Ms.  Mousebert: Well you did the right thing, because when you have a problem the first thing you should do is push all the buttons you have no idea what they may do and start disconnecting and  plugging then back into God knows where, instead of calling me first.

MIL: Well that makes me feel better. I thought I might have screwed it up.

3 Responses to “Another Mother-in-Law Crisis”

  1. Thoughtful Whatnot July 7, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    It seems like there’s a universal language spoken between parents/parents-in-law and their children/children-in-law. You captured what any number of conversations I’ve had could also be like.

  2. lgalaviz November 7, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    I find that it helps if the buttons don’t respond the first time to keep pressing them over and over again, but harder. They might be pressure sensitive.

    • mousebert November 7, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

      Also throwing it helps, or putting in the batteries the wrong way.

Leave a Reply

