Morning Daffodils

1 Apr

Daffodils

As I stroll among the hills,
and gazed upon the daffodils.
sunrise mist streams gently down
the people stir in nearby town

Arising from slumber’s thrall
The steam kettles to breakfast call
Oh, what splendor I do view
Aurora’s fields in glistening dew

As clouds meander over waves of daffodils
I recall the lass with unlaced espadrilles
The mind does wander to times long lost
Unknown to me would be its cost

I charged les châteaux dans l’air
Upon arrival, there was nothing there

She was lovely as the daffodils
Beyond my reach
Forever still

And still I hope to see once more
The lovely lass whom I’d adore
With field of daffodils and spring in air
I know it’s not, I shall not dare

Field of daffodils

Version 3.0: What do you thing? Vote early, vote often.

As I stroll among the hills,
and gazed upon the daffodils.
sunrise mist streams gently down
the people stir in nearby town

Released from slumber’s thrall
The steam kettles’ shrill to breakfast call
Oh, what splendor I do view
Aurora’s fields in glistening dew

As clouds meander over waves of daffodils
I recall the lass with unlaced espadrilles
The mind does wander to times long lost
Unknown to me would be its cost

I charged les châteaux dans l’air
Upon arrival, there was nothing there

As lovely as the daffodils
Beyond my reach
Forever still

And still I hope to see once more
The lovely lass whom I’d adore
With field of daffodils and spring in air
I know it’s not, I shall not dare

Wordworth's Daffodils

 

 

View from Wordworth's Estate

3 Responses to “Morning Daffodils”

  1. j April 4, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    In my (VERY) humble opinion, this is the best version.😉

    • mousebert April 4, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      Thank you. While you may find this hard to fathom, your input and @fumanchucat were very helpful. It help set the tone and solidify some personal opinions about the earlier versions. There are still some parts that don’t flow as nicely as I would like.

  2. jacqueline dick April 5, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Mousebert, I think u did a great job with “Daffodils” It was very visual. I could see gentle hills, yellow flowers, and the espadrilled girl *not wearing her espadrilles*.. lovely. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

