What are your rules-of-thumb

24 Nov

Do you have any “rules-of-thumb” to judge things in life? By this, I mean something not directly related to the item you are judging. For example factors that make a good wine include aroma, taste, feeling/texture and appearance.  (This is a horrible example because I don’t have a rule for it – so I going to make up one, a bad one) The location in your favorite wine store could be one.

So here is one where I do have a decent rule. It is about how much I like a movie.  I recently saw “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – part 1”. It is a moderately long move at 2.5 hours, but it felt short. I think I would prefer seeing part 1 and 2 together with an intermission and removing the credits in between. So the rule is: A good movie seem short, a bad one – long,

So what are your rules-of-thumb?  (Hint: I am not looking for biases, like people who are X are stupid. I hear enough of that shit; thank you very much.)

Leave a Reply

