My Dilemma

19 Apr

In the recent past a fellow Twitter, @$%#&, intentionally and aggressively attacked me on my blog and Twitter. Her extremely rude behavior upset me greatly. I realize the adult thing to do here is to “ just get over it.” This is where the dilemma occurs. I cannot continue blogging and using Twitter without coming across a reference to her since she is so intimately intertwined with my previous friends list. I had hoped I could get over it, but I’ve made minimal progress. every time I see her reference I feel extremely unwelcome. So the alternatives are (1) completely remove myself from this environment along with all contacts associated it, or (2) reentering the world of Twitter and letting @$%#& and others know exactly the kind of rude person she is. Neither of these are particularly palatable.

In the direct messages prior to my departing Twitter, she apologized for her tone but not her content. My request for a public apology and itemized explanation of her comments, which he could easily do on her blog, have fallen on deaf ears. Part of that was my fault since I was angry when I contacted her, which was reflected in my tone. Obviously I believe I need a real apology and contrition from her for me to move forward. It is interesting how a person who presents herself as being all hugs and kisses is so easily able to make such a cruel attack, yet has such a great deal of difficulty saying she’s sorry for anything but for her tone in private.

Have a great deal more to say on this type of behavior, but I will save that for later.

3 Responses to “My Dilemma”

  1. Firehorse April 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I’ve been in similar situations, I think anyone who has been on the social side of the interweb has. Ask yourself would you remove yourself from a social activity that you like and are respected in in RL just because one of the people in that social setting was a bit of an arse or would you just ignore them as far as possible and carry one anyway?

  2. mousebert April 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Thank you for the reply. I know that your question is a rhetorical question, but the answer is that I have done this in the past. I have left events because someone who made me feel uncomfortable showed up, or I never attended in the first place. I could not enjoy the experience with them there.

    • Firehorse April 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

      That’s really sad, because there are always unpleasant arseholes who will try and make themselves feel better by putting others down – and the better you are at something the more likely you are to attract unpleasant attention.

Leave a Reply

