DOH! (maybe I should number this as DOH! 1.0)

21 Feb

This morning I did something that reminded me of one of my favorite science fiction writers, Isaac Asimov, author of the I Robot and Foundation series. Asimov reportedly had one of the highest IQs ever recorded. He had published works in nine of the 10 categories in the Dewey decimal system with the exception being philosophy. According to Wikipedia he originated the term spome, as in “There’s No Place Like Spome.” As I recall, he also originated the word robotics.

Years ago I read a series of short vignettes written by Isaac Asimov, which if written today would probably appear on his blog. One story, which I cannot find at the moment even though I distinctly recall it was about his car not starting. (I wonder if I have confabulation this from several different episodes into a single one. I did that with the books “A Separate Peace” and “Catcher in the Rye”.)

Anyways, as the story goes in my mind, Isaac Asimov as one of the smartest persons living cannot get his car to start. Even though he is “one of the smartest” he has no mechanical inclination and has to call his brother Stanley over to help him with his car. Stanley arrives, I believe it’s a Saturday morning, and spends all morning and a good part of the early afternoon working on the car. At the end, Stanley is covered with dirt and grease but has the car running. At this point Stanley says to his brother, “You know, for someone who’s as smart as you, you would think you would at least belong to an auto club.” At which point Issac says, “Oh I do, I belong to the AAA” and pulls out his card.

The moral being that even smart people do dumb things. Which brings me back to why I thought of this. One should always put in their contact lenses before chopping up jalapeño peppers and not afterwards.

More Information on Asimov: asimovonlin

Leave a Reply

